We Support Catch, Photo, Release

Blue Water Charters Durban. Marlin, Tuna and Big Game Sport Fishing
Blue Water Charters - Durban Marlin, Game, Tuna and Deep Sea Fishing Charter. Charter fishing from Durban for all your Deep Sea Fishing, Game Fishing, Tuna Fishing and Marlin Fishing. Fishing Charter in and off Durban and Richards Bay, South Africa. Durban Fishing Charter

 Contact Us: +27762999445 - mike@bluewatercharters.co.za

Marlin Fishing, Tuna Fishing, Game Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing Charter and Boat Cruises in Durban South Africa

Call UsE-Mail Us

    Durban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing CharterDurban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing CharterDurban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing CharterDurban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing CharterDurban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing CharterDurban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing Charter



Reviews, Ratings, Ranking and Testimonials


Blue Water Charters

Average 4.86/5 Stars from 93 Reviews/Ratings/Ranking = 97%
Main Sources for Reviews/Ratings/Ranking: Google, FaceBook, Fishing Booker, TripAdvisor
Last update October 2018


82    Excellent - 88% of reviews
10        Above Average - 11% of Reviews
00            Average - 0% of Reviews
01                Below Average - 1% of Reviews

00                    Poor - 0% of Reviews



The Angler's Choice Award honours charter operators that deliver consistently great service, and Blue Water Charters fulfils all the requirements.

Durban Marlin, Tuna, Game Fish and Deep Sea Fishing Charter


Recommended on TripAdvisor
Blue Water Charters is highly rated on the world's largest travel site – and that isn't easy!

 

Great Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Buks - South Africa - October 2018
What a day! Today was our third time on the fat girl! Every time there happen something special on this boat!! It was only me and my two boys(12 and 10) We dont have much experience of sea fishing but Eric(skipper) and Kurt always make us feel at home and guide us , especially the boys what to do when the fish is on!! They almost get more excited than us!! Although the sea was a bit rough after yesterdays strong winds we manage to get a few bonnies , but the action of the day was when we saw a hole lot of dorado chasing the lures! It was a double hook up!! I was unfortunate to lose mine but my son Janco manage to land a 20 kg dorado with the help and guidance from Eric and Kurt!! I can recommend these people anytime for a fishing experience of a lifetime!! Thanks Mike, Eric and Kurt!!

 

Awesome Trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Annie - South Africa - August 2018
Thnx for da awesome trip Mike...gr8 catch!

 

Thanks for a top day out
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ashvir - South Africa - August 2018
Top Day with the boys. Tuna was a top pull. Thanks Blue Water Charters. 100%

 

Great Day
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ishaan - South Africa - August 2018
As always safe, and great day today, we enjoyed the catch ,thanks Mike and Kurt!!!!

 

Professional and Amazing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Raiden - South Africa - August 2018
It was absolutely amazing I loved every second of it Mike is very professional and amazing at his job and so is Kurt his assistant. Amazing conversation and great catches

 

Half day trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Max - Germany - August 2018
What an amazing experience. Captain Mike and his crew were amazing. Nice trawling for Tuna and a few nice catches. Good bottom fishing at the reefs and nice fishes. We will definitely do this again.

 

Amazing trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Stefano - France - August 2018
Mike and his crew are really available and helpful during the entire fishing trip considering that we were all beginners. We enjoyed the entire time and we were lucky to catch a big tuna.

 

July fishing trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ron - United States - July 2018
This was a wonderful time.. The captian and mate were awsome serious about catching some fish and professional in what they did. Felt safe and made many many memories with the entire family.. We end such experience with a sunset cruise around the harbor that was breath taking… Thats CAPTAIN, WAY TO GO FAT GIRL… U.S.A… Still at air port but cant wait to uploads some photos…. A day of Nice size Bonies 18 i believe and each member caught something.. YEA.. Fun in Durban S.A.

 

Family deep sea fishing trip
Blue Water Charters

Excellent
Daniel - South Africa - July 2018
Amazing family trip. Professional crew, great boat, great equipment, comfortable ride and great fun. Will be back, no doubt.

 

Backline Fun with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Hugo - South Africa - July 2018
We had a awesome day on Nawty girl. Mike is a true professional and Kurt was amazing with my two girls. Great day, and non-stop fishing action. Thanks guys for the special memories made.

 

Best FUN your kids will ever have!! ABSOLUTELY worth it!!
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ettienne - South Africa - July 2018
If you have NO idea what to do with the kids on your holiday! ME as a mother, can absolutely recommend the 3hr family fun fishing trips with Captain Mike. This was definitely the most fish we, and the kids have ever caught, and the time just flew by too quickly. With every cast there was a fish and sometimes as much as 3 hooked on a single casting. Luckily the captain had a little helper Kurt, that is there to unhook your fish and put on new bait as soon as you reel in… What is also nice, is that you only have your family on board as the captain does not mix groups just to make a few extra bucks like other charters sometimes do… Mike also has a bigger boat which we will definitely go on next year along with all other family members for the BIG deep fish…thank you so much Mike and Kurt you guys are great!!

 

5 Hr Backline/Mini Deep Sea Fishing on Fat Girl with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Nevaan - South Africa - May 2018
Mike and his deckhand Kurt were extremely professional. It was the first time out to sea for most of our group and we all had a great time and look forward to coming back again. We left the bay at 6am to fish the backline but with the dredger busy in that area Mike knew it would be better to head further out to deeper water where we could secure some better fish. We picked up a lot of sand soldier which eventually became a nuisance so Mike moved us along to a better spot where we were rid of the peckers. I personally managed a good size rockcod, a personal best fish and a great fight on the light spinning gear we were using. Other good eating fish of size were a copper bream, englishman and slinger. We also got a few undersize fish off the reef which were released and lots of trigger fish, banana fish, lizard fish and other by catch which was some fun to reel in but unfortunately didn’t alllow us to keep our bait in the water for longer to give the bigger fish a chance to eat. Unfortunately despite the great conditions the bigger fish were just not interested in taking a chomp. All in all a great time and an excellent trip with excellent guidance by the crew, I highly recommend a trip with Mike and look forward to heading out with him again.

 

Great fishing experience
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Timothy - South Africa - April 2018
The skipper, Mike, really knows his stuff and gets you out to all the marks -- almost guaranteed to catch something big. Unfortunately, the big game fish weren't biting when we went, but we got a plenty of good-sized bottom fish. Great prices and a big enough boat for everyone to fish comfortably (we were on the Fat Girl). 10/10 would go again.

 

Fishing Greatness
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Roy - South Africa - April 2018
Great way to round off a business trip in KZN. Great skipper and deckhand. Excellent tackle! Caught Tuna and large array of bottom fish. Well worth the money!

 

AmaZing Fishing Experience
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Shaun - South Africa - April 2018
What a amaZing day with the Blue Water Charters. AmaZing fishing AmaZing laughs AmaZing people. I really recommend fishing with Mike.

 

Amazing Trip, massive tick on the bucket list!
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Leigh - New Zealand - April 2018
My family from NZ and UK were in SA for a 2 week trip, bit of beach, sun and Kruger to show them this beautiful country. One of the bucket list items was a bit of game fishing, as although they are keen fishermen, they have not done this before, so something a bit different. After a bit of research on line, found Blue Water Charters. Good reviews on a number of sites so gave Mike (the skipper) a call to set it up as we needed a harbour cruise first, drop off my Mum back to shore, then head out to sea for the fishing. No problem with tailor made package to suit the charter needs. We joined the boat in the morning, and met Mike and Kurt, his deckhand. It was a very calm day, little swell and zero chop. The harbour cruise was relaxed, with both Mike and Kurt imparting a lot of local knowledge about Durban, fishing and we got to see some dolphins cruising along side. After an hour we stopped back at the jetty and dropped of Mum, after which we continued out to sea. Straight out the harbour Mike and Kurt set the lines, 9 of them in a pattern ..and off we go. I think the trawl speed was up a bit due to the flat seas, to try and get an aggressive pattern going? After a few hours we got a hook up, where Mike coached my niece in trying to land it. However it shook the hook just before we could bring it on board. Still an experience for an 8 year old sitting in a game chair though! Despite the best efforts of Mike we didn’t get any action until the last hour as we were heading home, double hook up! The crew cleared the remaining lines, and after some serious hard work, they both landed Dorado’s, one of them just under 12kg. By this time we should have been back in port and I expected Mike to keep the lines in and head home. But he put the lines back out and turned back towards the hook up area, and then it was my turn to land one. Now it was time to head back in. Kurt kindly filleted the fish for us and bagged it up after we were tied up again. Really enjoyable trip with a skipper who has a passion for it and understands it’s all about the experience, who went the extra mile, and Kurt, who is super chilled and really enjoys making it a great day for you. And for those who fish, we had zero gear failures, no busted tackle or knots failing, and the rods and reels are in really good condition. Great day out, one of the highlights of the holiday, and I will def be booking with Mike again in the future.

 

Fantastic Fishing Trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Michael - South Africa - April 2018
I took my 14yo son, his friend and a friend of mine. We departed early for a 12 hour trip. The boat is well equipped, cabin, toilet and at one stage we had 9 rods in the water. The tackle is all top notch. We were able to catch a 15kg and a 3.5kg yellow fin and a 12kg Wahoo. A lovely experience. This is the third time in less than 6 months that I have been out with Blue Water Charters and definitely not the last.

 

Family Fun Fishing Trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Fanie - South Africa - April 2018
Thank you for an awesome day, great fishing and an experience that won't be forgotten. Thanks to our great skipper Erik. It was absoloutely worth it.

 

Big Shark took my Big Tuna
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ibrahim - South Africa - April 2018
It all started the day before, we reached the harbor with much excitement all 8 of us only to find out the water was very rough due to the wind thanks to the honesty of mike he advised us to come tomorrow and so we did ... the next morning we were up and ready this time IT WAS HAPPENING with no delay of setting up rods or getting started we were on the way ... sailing out the harbor we were joined by a pod of beautiful bottle nose dolphins much to the excitement of the kids we sailed on into the DEEP ! time passed by gracefully enjoying the peace and bliss apart from the few that were sea sick ( i’d recommend if you tend to get motion sickness or nausea easily rather to stick to the harbor and not into the deep) we saw fish in the water but still trolling on the hour mark , we hear it “ITS ON !” kurt grabs the rod the sound of zzzzzzzz is all u really hear before i knew it i was in the chair with the rod in my hand being my first time i was nervous not knowing what to expect thankfully mike and kurt were there to guide and advise me along the way . After 40 mins of constant reeling and pulling and guessing as to what was on the end of the line we saw it A BEAUTIFUL TUNA ... kurt and mike grabbed the equipment to land the beauty onto the boat we all waited with anticipation as we were about to bring our tuna on board just as we about to land it we see a pool of blood and the reel suddenly feels a lot easier A SHARK !! yes a shark decided to join in on the party taking half our tuna ... when we finally got the half fish on board it was a 15kg tuna head a feeling of relief, disappointment and excitement all in one! truly an unforgettable experience thanks to blue water charters durban.

 

Excellent Skippers
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Eric - South Africa - April 2018
Great Sport Fishing Charter Boat with Excellent Skippers

 

5hr Backline Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Above Average
Johan - South Africa - April 2018
We enjoyed the trip although we expected more for the price. I must admit that I did not ask enough questions about the trip and what to expect. Mike helped us with a booking in a short time and his response was very quick. The skipper for the day was very friendly and helpful and made sure that we catch some fish.

 

Fishing with Mike and Blue Water Charters for 10 years
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Frik - South Africa - March 2018
I have been fortunate enough to be fishing with Mike on numerous occasions over the last 10 years. These trips have ranged from fishing the backline of Durban to 10HR deep sea game fishing trips. Mike and crew comes highly recommended. Equipment is always extremely good.

 

Deep Sea with Mike and Blue Water Charters
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Avesh - South Africa - March 2018
Excellent day out fishing with Mike

 

First time deep sea fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Lawrence - South Africa - March 2018
Was my first boat fishing experience and one of a lifetime. Everything was perfect and caught some good fish too.

 

Dorado Triple Hook Up
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Moses - South Africa - March 2018
This outing was booked by my dear wife as a surprise 40th Birthday gift. She told me that before she decided on the Blue Water Charters she had called other charters in the Durban area, but what stood out to her was Mike’s kind manner and professionalism. I was to find out that this was an outstanding decision. After I was presented with my gift I began communicating with Mike on WhatsApp and I found him to be extremely accommodating and friendly as he answered my numerous questions patiently and honestly. My group, although with many years shore angling experience, had almost no deep-sea encounter and even though we were excited we had many reservations. However, Mike, with his experience and good humour, put our fears to rest. Unfortunately, I never got the opportunity to meet Mike as the night before he told me that Erik would be skippering us the next day. The Big Day arrived and Skipper, Erik and Deck Hand, Kurt were ready to greet us at 5:30 am even though we were set to move out at 6:00. We immediately hit it off with the duo and found them to be both knowledgeable and friendly. After about and hour and a half into our trip the first reel was running and I was tasked with landing the first fish of the day. As this was my first experience I was expertly guided by Kurt and the Skipper. That Skipjack Tuna was a joy to all of us. While I was ‘on’ two other mates were on too and in an instant, we had 3 tunas on board. Not long after another three reels were running simultaneously. Another three mates grabbed the rods and two more Skipjacks was landed. To be honest, if the trip ended at that stage we would all have been happy…but the best was yet to come. The whole morning Kurt told us that the water looked good for Dorado and every now and then he spoke to the sea beckoning the Dorado. As we did not have any experience about the fish we wondered what all the fuss was about? We were soon to find out!!! About 3 hours into the trip our relaxed banter was interrupted by a shout from Kurt; “DORADO ON!” A look into the Ocean presented us with the amazing sight of this beautiful ray-finned fish leaping out of the water. Before we could decide who was going to grab the rod another reel was running and then astonishingly a third reel peeled off. THREE Dorado were ‘on’ at the same time!!! With our lack of experience this proved a near impossible task. However, after numerous inter-changing of the guys manning the rods, and the excellent coaching of Erik and Kurt, fifteen minutes later we had all three fish on board. We now understood what all the fuss about the Dorado was! As if the day couldn’t get any more perfect we caught our breath to a large pod of Dolphins accompanying us for a short period. Later we caught more Skipjack and I would estimate, lost about 5. Still amazingly as we headed back to port this boat of amateur first-time fisherman carried 9 Skipjack Tuna and 3 Dorado onboard. This was truly an experience of a lifetime for me and my mates. More than the fishing, the professionalism, efficiency and good humour of Erik and Kurt made this trip the ultimate experience. Sailing into the harbour hoisting our Dorado and Tuna flags filled me with immense pride. It is a day I was never forget. The guys at Blue Water Charters are remarkable and I think, more than all their other great qualities, it was their ability to be genuine that stood out the most. Every member of my group and I would gladly recommend them to anyone looking to head off for a deep-sea fishing expedition. Perhaps the best compliment I could pay to Mike and his to team would be to say: “Even if we did not catch a single fish on the trip, this would still have been one of the most memorable days in my life” Thank you Blue Water Charters.

 

10Hr Marlin/Game Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Richard - United States - March 2018
I had a great time with Blue Water Charters this past week. I reserved a 10Hr day trip for an attempt at Marlin and other Deep Sea gamefish. The boat was well maintained, the tackle was excellent(we had 11 lines out at once), and the crew was very helpful and firendly. We landed several fish like Wahoo, Dorado and Tuna and lost a few. Although we didn’t get to see a Marlin I still had a lot fun on the trip. It’s an experience I would recommend to anyone looking for a great charter out of Durban.

 

Marlin Catch
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Sakkie - South Africa - March 2018
Had a great trip, got a Black Marlin and a large Tuna. Boat and Tackle excellent, great crew that know their stuff.

 

Deep Sea Game Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Above Average
Pieter - South Africa - March 2018
Great half day out at sea with customers. It was a 1st time experience for all and we got 12 tuna in total! Highly recomended as these guys know what they doing

 

Fishing with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Simone - Austria - February 2018
Everything went perfect during our trip with Blue Water Charters. Mike stayed in contact with us from time to time. The staff tried very hard to find some fishes, what was worth it at the end of the day. We will recommend Blue Water Charters to everybody.

 

Two days of great fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Kevin - United Kingdom - February 2018
Great boat perfect size for the sea and conditions. Three man crew who were very helpful and worked hard to make sure that we had a great time. Caught some fish and hooked into a marlin but lost it, that’s fishing. Easy to book great communication with Mike who runs the show. Looking forward bro doing it again!

 

Black Marlin Catch
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Henk - South Africa - January 2018
Thanks Mike and Crew me and my friend had a great experience Blue Water Charters - The Best, will come back next time

 

5 hour trip looking for Dorado, Wahoo and other Game fish
Blue Water Charters
Above Average
Keith - South Africa - January 2018
Very enjoyable morning out. Good tackle ... experienced crew.... fishing was tough and the crew tried everything to put us on fish which paid off just before we came in ... great morning out

 

January fishing trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Wasley - South Africa - January 2018
Great Fishing, got a large Wahoo and a Dorado

 

First time fishing trip with my wife and 6 year old son
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Francois - South Africa - December 2017
What a great experience we had with Mike from Blue Water Charters! I can recommend his charter company to anybody. Will definitely make use of his services again in the future!

 

Tuna and Dorado
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Michael - South Africa - December 2017
Had an absolutely fantastic day fishing with Blue Water Charters. Mike, skipper, was excellent. Lovely boat, prime rods and reels. Caught five small yellow fin and a decent Dorado.

 

Full day trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Phillip - Kenya - November 2017
Boat and tackle, excellent
Skipper very helpful and experienced.
Communication excellent.
Highly recommend Blue Water Charters Durban.

 

Family fishing day with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Chris - South Africa - November 2017
Fantastic. Best time had in years. Excellent service and friendly attitude and superbly helpful

 

November fishing trip
Blue Water Charters
Above Average
Oosie - South Africa - November 2017
Great trip, both my sons were proud of their catch. The Hammerhead Shark was a big fight.

 

Half day with Captain Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Roy - South Africa - August 2017
Was awesome, friendly crew always willing to help and we caught fish

 

Half day trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ray - South Africa - March 2017
Had a fantastic time on the boat, professional crew helped my two young boys both land fish, a 9kg dorado and some reef fish.

 

Blue Water Charters - My Go-to Charter
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Tim - New Zealand
Skipper Mike is very knowledgeable and accommodating. His equipment is top class and well kept. I have had numerous trips on Fat Girl over the years and have caught Dorado, Tuna, Cuda, Wahoo, Bonnies, Sharks, Sailfish and even a baby marlin on a yozuri rig while catching livebait. My first trip with Mike was back in 2010 and he is always my go-to when I am in South Africa.The funnest trip we had was fishing light tackle (bass outfits) trolling for 5kg YF Tuna and having epic battles on the baitcasters.

 

The best ever
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Henk - South Africa
Was my best deep sea fishing experience thanks Mike .Will see me soon

 

Always going the extra mile
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ray - South Africa
I've taken two charter's with Blue Water Charters. Both have delivered memorable days for my sons and I. The crew are friendly and professional and really seemed to go that extra mile to help us land a special fish.

 

Wonderful
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Maureen - South Africa
A wonderful fishing charter boat...I use Mike all the time...great boat ...great fishing tackle and most of all a wonderful skipper.

 

Highly Recommended
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Francois - South Africa
What a great experience we as a family had with Mike and his team of Blue Water Charters! Taking out my family for the first time on a fishing charter, Mike made us feel right at home on Fat Girl. Although the weather was not playing along, we managed to land a great Dorado and some bottom fish as well. We can recommend Mike at any time and will hopefully return for some more great fishing!

 

Very friendly and helpful
Blue Water Charters
Above Average
Barry - United Kingdom
A great days fishing the skipper was great, fishing was difficult but we still managed to catch great fish I would definitely recommend these guys. Very friendly and helpful

 

Most fun I've had in years
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Tini - South Africa
Mike took us out as a family for a fishing adventure. He was as fantastic with the children as he was with us and we all had an absolute ball. We slept like babies that night. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for something different and a way better experience than any shopping mall could ever offer

 

A fun day out even if there wasn't much fish
Blue Water Charters
Above Average
Peter - South Africa
A fun day out fishing with some friends - all inexperienced fishermen. A very friendly skipper and crewman to show us the ropes, and a comfortable boat (Fat Girl). Not a lot of fish but we did come home with one good sized yellow fin Tuna. Will be back again.

 

Double Sailfish Hook Up
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Tony - South Africa
Dear Mike,
Thanks for an excellent day deep-sea fishing on Blue Water Charters!!!
Me getting a lovely yellowfin tuna, my son 2 yellowfin tuna and my whife also a yellowfin tuna, her first ever game fish. But the catch of the day, both my son and I, a sailfish. Can’t believe he, 12 years old, managed to get a 40kg sailfish to the boat whilst I almost gave up on a 50kg sailfish.
My son and I went deep-sea fishing the week before, specifically requesting game fishing only, or at least mostly, but were disappointed with an overcrowded boat, 8 fisherman, only an hour’s trolling and no game fish at all. The rest of the day was bottom fishing only. You trolled all the time.
Your boat is also lady-friendly with a huge indoor cabin and an on-board toilet, next time remember the toilet paper though. (Joke) My wife was impressed with a very clean boat and “Kayha” scrubbing the deck after each landed catch, not that we lost one.
I will definitely go out with you again. Next time my daughter takes the first one, she did manage to get my sailfish in a few meters though.

 

Blue Marlin Catch
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Michael - Lebanon
We set off in the early hours of the morning to catch a Marlin. From the start Mike had everything well organised. After a few hours at sea, we were lucky enough to hook on a 180kg Blue Marlin! We couldn't believe it! It took me over 1hr to get the fish to the boat. Mike was there the whole time pushing me to do my best not to give up. And what good advice that was! After a staggering 1h30 min, the fish was finally along side, and what a fish! Was a fantastic and unforgettable experience. One of the best fishing days of my life. Thanks again to Mike and his crew for such a wonderful day. We will definitely be visiting him and his team soon. Until we meet again

 

Awesome day out
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Delwin - South Africa
There is nothing better than sipping on a hot cup of coffee at 4am in the morning, leaving the harbour to go do a hard days fishing, and what better boat to do it on than "FAT GIRL" , with Blue Water charters and our captain and skipper Mike. The boat is extremely well fitted, from a comfortable cabin, to the large aft deck, to the latest in fishing equipment and lures. What an awesome day we had, leaving the bay behind us going on the hunt for some big tuna. As they say nothing gets your adrenalin pumping more than the thrill of when you hear that reel run.
Thanks Mike for an awesome day on board your boat, and for the laughs and obviously the great fish, THANKS!!!

 

Game Fish Grand Slam Fishing with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Pierre - South Africa
For the past few years my wife has been nagging me to go on a chartered deep-sea fishing excursion. Whilst I desired to do this, my fear for seasickness prevented me from taking this decision.
Then I met Mike at a social.
His confident, relaxed demeanour made me change my mind and I booked a four hour charter with Mike for my wife and I. When we arrived at the small craft harbour at the arranged time, Mike was there, waiting and the appropriate tackle already prepared for our adventure. I was also impressed with the convenience of parking the car about 20 meters from Mikes boat.
On the way to his favourite fishing grounds we were fascinated by his knowledge about conservation and ethics about fishing. Not only saltwater related. During the process of trolling for Yellowtail, Tuna, etc. I noticed how Mike took into account all sorts of variables in locating fish, apart from utilizing the fish finder, he watched the water temperature, current direction, bird activity, tell-tale signs of fish activity on the surface of the water, etc.
Clearly this man had many, many years of experience which made him the professional that he is.
Then the first reel screamed. Under the Captains directions my wife successfully caught a Bonito About 20 minutes afterwards a second reel went and it was my turn. I panicked. This was something big. It was only through Mike’s patience, experience and precise instructions I landed a fair size Wahoo.
I was shaking for 20 minutes afterwards. What a feeling!!
On our way back, Mike suggested that we troll some lures and this resulted in my wife catching a Queen Dorado - complete with the customary hard fighting and jumping spectacle associated with this magnificent fish.
Mike also absolutely beamed with satisfaction and pleasure each time we had success.
I must mention that there were other charters on the water at the same time and from what I heard on the boat’s radio they had to resort to bottom fishing.
On the way home my wife asked: How did Mike know where to find the fish? My answer: I don’t know She asked: How did we manage to catch 3 different species of fish with Mike within 4 hours? My answer: I don’t know. Actually, I do know. It was due to the experience and professionalism of the Skipper.
Thanks, Mike. It was an experience of a lifetime. And for the valuable knowledge you shared. And for the patience of answering countless questions. And… and,,,, etc.
Seasickness? What seasickness??

Marlin Fishing with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Cornel - South Africa
Somewhere in every anglers life there will be an urge to catch a billfish. Mine came early this year, so I got myself into the Durban Billfish Tournament 2011 with Mike. I spent 3 full days with Mike on the sea (his office). I must add he knows his office. From the first handshake he made me feel at home and at ease being my first quest for a billfish. Mike work hard to make sure that your trip were memorable, the information he shared with us were priceless using every opportunity to teach those that's willing to learn. He uses immaculate tackle that adds to the pleasure of fishing. Give Mike a call you will be pleasantly surprised.

Shark Fishing in Durban
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Charlie - United Kingdom
Mike is a great guy, very friendly and good fun! I went in July 2010 and wanted to catch a shark...my dream was made when we caught a Black Tip, arounf 9ft lonf and estimated at about 300lbs!! Will defo be back! Best fishing trip i have ever done!! YOU MUST GO ON THIS TRIP OF A LIFETIME

Deep Fishing with Kids
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Malcolm - South Africa
We wanted our youngster of 8 years of age to have the experience of catching some good sized fish for the first time in his life. He is a passionate fisherman and it's been his dream ever since starting fishing to pull in something big! With a dad who is not much of a fisherman, we turned to Mike to give him that experience. Although the game fish did not bite, we pulled in plenty from the bottom (soldier bream, copper bream, rockcod to name a few), which caused a lot of excitement for both son and dad. What was fantastic is that Mike put in the hours and went out of his way (literally!) to make sure we came back feeling very pleased with ourselves. For our youngster, it was more than catching fish – it was his first chance to get far out onto the ocean, under perfect conditions, and to learn what skiboat fishing is about from someone who is true professional. We will definitely do it again!

My first Sailfish and Dorado
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
OM - South Africa
Mike got me my first sailfish and dorado. And that was in 1 day. Best moment of the day was when all the reels started screaming at the same time. Panic, excitement, swearing, smiles and shouts. Turned out we had a sailfish and 4 dorado on. We caught plenty of fish and saw whales, dolphins, sharks and flying fish. We even had an albatros dive down on our lures. I've been out with a couple of skippers before and never really felt welcome on board. Mike is a great guy to have as a skipper. Boat, knowledge, enthusiasm, tackle etc. - I doubt there is a match for his operation.

Captain Mike is the Best
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Tim - South Africa
Blue Water Charters are my number one choice when booking a charter game-fishing trip. Captain Mike has always gone out of his way to produce quality game fish and this is one of the main reasons why I only use his services when targeting game fish. Mike has the ability to know just where the fish are and you can be sure that you will be left with great memories and photos. The quality of the gear (rods, reels and tackle) , the comfort of the boat, the knowledge of the target species and his ability to produce game fish time after time is amazing. I am confident that once you give Mike a go, you will be hooked for life. Do yourself a favour and give Mike a call.

Excellent Experience
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Loshni - South Africa
Mike really made my husband's birthday gift a fantastic day to remember. With my husband's father and brother to accompany him, it will be a memory to treasure! Thanks Mike for superb customer service! Will definitely do this again.

School Kids Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Rod - South Africa
I'm a school teacher at Empangeni High. I was very surprised when Mike sent me a mail to say he would like to conduct an offshore fishing clinic with a group of kids from the club we have at school. At his cost. Not really knowing what to expect I was totally blown out of the water by the extent of Mikes knowledge, his patience with the kids and the way in which he kept them constantly captivated by his many fishing related stories. (Wish I could have the same effect on them in class). What really stood out for me was the great lengths that Mike took to ensure that the kids hooked into some very decent fish. Kids who had never been to sea before. I unhestitatingly would recommend Mike to anyone looking for a fantastic fish-filled day at sea

Excellent Trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Chris - South Africa
I took a few clients out on a fishing trip with Mike. It was my first deep sea fishing adventure and was a fantastic experience. Mike is extremely knowledgeable and managed to locate some excellent fish. His experience and ability to teach a novice like myself was really great. Am hoping to do many more corporate and personal trips in the future. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for fishing trips around Durban.

It's great fishing with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Rolfe - South Africa
It's great fishing with Mike - he's a total lure fishing junkie and in the 5 times I fished with him he's always put me onto lure-eating fish - no exceptions! He's amazingly enthusiastic and keeps changing his approach until something happens. If you want to learn more about lure fishing a session with Mike is a great investment - if you don't learn a lot you're either already Larry Dahlberg or already dead. PS - ask him to show you his favourite lure - the mighty Z-Claw!

Kids Harbour Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Mark - South Africa
Mike took us out for the day in the harbour as i have small kids who are keen on the sport. WOW what a day we had such fun and caught many fish - Mikes love for kids, the ocean, fishing and his boat - made for a fantastic day. Highly recommended

Deep Sea Fishing with Capt. Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Leoni - South Africa
You really don't know how much it meant to him to have that day with his father and brother. Although his brother was sick he also still enjoyed it. I will definitely recommend all our friends to use your services for deep sea fishing trips. Be blessed Mike and great customer service, thank You!

Mike restored my faith in charter operators
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Oelof - South Africa
Thanks again for the trip. I love your boat, dry, fast, stable and very comfy on the swells and chop. Another plus point was being able to book directly with you and not through a booking agent. I was also impressed with your tackle and the condition of it. I'm sure it contributed to our success that day. I will gladly recommend you to any potential client, I've been out with a couple of rough operators so the day with Blue Water Charters was the greatest of pleasures. I was losing my faith in charter operators but you restored it. I've already promised the kids that I will take them out with you, also, after seeing the pics of the sailie and dorados some of my other mates decided they wanted your number as well. Any angler looking for a experienced professional skipper will enjoy a day out with you. I wish you well and will definately be making use of your services again.

Deep sea Fishing and Bass Fishing with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Mervyn - South Africa
On two separate occasions my son Mervyn and I had the privilege to accompany Mike on fishing trips. The first time was on a deep sea excursion from Durban harbour. The time and effort that Mike spends with teaching novice anglers is commendable. His knowledge not just with regards to fishing but with nature as a whole is unbelievable. There is no beating around the bush if you spend a day on his boat. If he says we launch at 06:00 then he means 06:00. When you arrive at the launch site the boat is in the water ready to go. He knows exactly where the fish will be found and it is not a matter of driving around looking for fish. He takes you right to the spot and it is “FISH ON.” If fishing at one spot is a bit slow there is a plan B and of you go to the next site. Even when assisting a 12 year old on the sea for the first time Mike knows exactly how to put him into a decent fish.
The second time around we had the privilege to spend two days fishing with Mike at Inanda Dam to catch some bass. As I took my own boat down Mike assisted in doing the necessary registration which really makes it a lot easier when arriving at a new destination. When we started fishing Mike introduced us to “new” method of drop shot. I must admit that I was a bit cynical at first as it is not the standard way of fishing for bass as you are normally taught but brother does it produce! Although Mike brought with his own lures, I made him use my lures just to make sure he does not have some secret lures that he uses and still we caught fish. Again his knowledge of Inanda Dam is excellent and it saves a lot of time looking for fish. The pigs did elude us on this occasion but be sure that I will be going back to Inanda to catch them and I will make use of Mikes service again

Deep sea Fishing with Mike
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Jenny - South Africa
My family wanted to try deep sea fishing. We really are novices when it comes to this type of fishing. So the frantic search started and we soon discovered Blue Water Charters on line. We had booked and phoned Mike to ask all the usual 1st timers questions, and he was very helpful regarding these bombardments of questions. On our 1st deep sea trip as a family, (Mom, Dad and 2 sons) Mike was on time and explained all safety rules etc even before the boat was in the water. As to the fishing, Mike is extremely knowledgeable and was very patient with our 1st timers. He certainly knows the spots as we did not come away empty handed. Thanks Mike and we will certainly be using you again when going deep sea fishing.

Kids Harbour Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Melvin - South Africa
Thanks so much again for harbour charter, as always the ease of the harbour launch and flat waters in the harbour, plus all the fish the kids caught made for another fantastic day. Till next time!!!.

Deep Sea Fishing
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Tracy - South Africa
The guys had a great time and are keen to come again for bottom fishing some time.

Fishing for Springer in Durban Harbour
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Ian - South Africa
We had a great time mainly due to your knowledge and assistance (catching those great size fish was only a bonus). I am sure we will use your services again in the near future, until then I wish you all the luck on the water.

My first Saltwater Fish
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Willy - South Africa
Mike, Just to thank you once again for an excellent fishing trip and for helping me catch my first salt water fish!

Drop Shot Fishing in Durban Harbour
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Francois - South Africa
Just a quick note to say thanks for yesterday, really enjoyed it

Deep Sea Fishing in Durban
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Goolam - South Africa
Hey Mike, thanks for the awesome experience

Deep Sea Fishing Trip
Blue Water Charters
Excellent
Leon - South Africa
Mikes knowledge of local conditions, patience and friendly manner combined to create a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. I cant wait for the next trip!

Ratings
Blue Water Charters

Excellent
Trishen - South Africa - September 2018

Excellent
Benny - Denmark - July 2018

Excellent
Jan - South Africa - July 2018

Above Average
Prenisha - South Africa - July 2018

Excellent
Jacques - South Africa - April 2018

Above Average
Ahmed - South Africa

Excellent
Fred - Australia

Below Average
Reider - Germany

Excellent
Greg - United States

Excellent
MCS - South Africa

Excellent
Cassim - South Africa

Above Average
Nelson - South Africa

Above Average
Gerhard - South Africa

Above Average
Kugen - South Africa

Excellent
Phil - South Africa

Excellent
Mahesh - South Africa

Excellent
Niresh - South Africa

Excellent
Amanda - South Africa

Excellent
Emmanuel - South Africa

Above Average
Gary - South Africa

Call UsE-Mail Us

 Contact Us: +27762999445 - mike@bluewatercharters.co.za

Note: All articles, text, pictures, photographs, diagrams, artwork and images on this website are the intellectual property of the author and may not be copied, used, distributed or reproduced without the express permission and consent of the author